Faculty

Beam, George D.
Associate Professor Emeritus. Ph.D., Political Science, University of Michigan (1963): public administration theory, quality management, methodology, ethics.
gbeam@uic.edu

Blankenship, L. Vaughn
Professor Emeritus. Ph.D., Management, Cornell University (1962): budgeting, science and technology policy, public administration history, information technology.
lvaughn@uic.edu

Carr, Jered
Department Head and Professor. Ph.D., Public Administration, Florida State University (2000): public administration, urban policy, local government administration, metropolitan governance, civic
engagement, public service delivery, and intergovernmental management.
jbcarr@uic.edu

Hendrick, Rebecca
Director of Graduate Studies-PhD and  Professor. Ph.D., Political Science, Michigan State University (1986): budgeting, financial management, management, organization theory, research methods and statistics.
hendrick@uic.edu

Holbrook, Allyson
Associate Professor. Ph.D., Social Psychology, Ohio State University (2002): survey research, design, questionnaire construction, political psychology, social identity, statistics.
allyson@uic.edu

Johnson, Timothy
Professor and Director of the Survey Research Laboratory. Ph.D., Sociology, University of Kentucky (1988): research methods and statistics, survey research, evaluation research, policy areas: substance abuse, homelessness, social epidemiology.
timj@uic.edu

Kolenda, Ric
Clinical Assistant Professor. Georgia State University & Georgia Institute of Technology. Research interests: urban inequality, equality of opportunity & socio-economic mobility; and twenty-first century employment structures.
rkolenda@uic.edu

LeRoux, Kelly
Associate Professor. Ph.D., Political Science (2006):Wayne State University: nonprofit organizations, social services, government-nonprofit relations, service contracting, and interlocal service delivery.
kleroux@uic.edu

Merriman, David
Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs and Professor. Ph.D., Public Economics (1983): University of Wisconsin at Madison: state and local public finance, urban and regional economics, fiscal federalism.
dmerrim@uic.edu

Pagano, Michael A.
Dean, College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs, Professor. Ph.D., Government, University of Texas at Austin (1980): budgeting and finance, urban policy, federalism and intergovernmental relations. Editor, Urban Affairs Review.
mapagano@uic.edu

Siciliano, Michael D.
Assistant Professor. Ph.D., Public Policy and Public Administration, University of Pittsburgh (2012): Public policy, quantitative methods, social network analysis and theory, performance measurement.
sicilian@uic.edu

Snyder, Thomas
Clinical Professor, MPA Director of Graduate Studies. Ph.D., Urban Planning, Harvard University (1986): Public Finance, Financial Management and Budgeting, Transportation and Infrastructure Finance, Pricing and Planning,Urban Economics and Economic Development, Program Evaluation and Cost-Benefit Analysis, Quantitative Methods and Econometrics, Land Use Planning and Regulation, Intergovernmental Fiscal Policy and Education Finance.
tsnyder@uic.edu

Thompson, James R.
Associate Professor. Ph.D., Public Administration, Syracuse University (1996): human resource management, public management, information technology, qualitative methodology, local government management, organization theory.
jthomp@uic.edu

Warnecke, Richard
Professor and Director Health Policy Center. Ph.D., Sociology, Duke University (1966): research methods, evaluation research, health policy, medical sociology, cancer control.
warnecke@uic.edu

Wu, Yonghong
Associate Professor. Ph.D., Syracuse University (2004): state and local economic development, public finance issues in the science and technology policy arena, state and local tax policy, local property and telecommunications taxes.
yonghong@uic.edu

Alumni Testimonials

2012 MPA

Practical, versatile, foundational, relevant, transformational.

Support for Student Success